Major project with Ribble’s nine elements

As I did not use much digital resources in my teaching and learning but now, I know, not much but few digital sites that really helpful for learning math’s. Out of these resources I really like the desmos as it provides equal opportunities to every student. I have used the Desmos graphing calculator few times, and I must say that it works pretty well for graphing most functions. Well, it is true that for learning & understanding Math’s, we really don’t need a graphing tool but sometimes it really helpful for the students and teachers to understand it very well. It has a lot of applications such as graphing calculator, scientific calculator, four function calculator, and, matrix calculator that really helps the students and teachers to do mathematics.

source-https://moodlehub.ca/pluginfile.php/5656/mod_book/chapter/8699/Digital%20Citizenship%20.jpg

In the starting I planned that I will only use two to three elements of Ribble but after reading, Nine Elements (digitalcitizenship.net) about all the elements I realised that, Ribble’s nine elements such as (a) Digital access (b) Digital commerce (c) Digital communication and collaboration (d) Digital etiquette (e) Digital fluency (f) Digital health and welfare (g) Digital Law (h) Digital rights and responsibility (i) Digital security and privacy, all are completely fit into using Desmos curriculum while learning mathematics, as it provides equal distribution to teachers & students. Teachers can use this as a teaching resource and students can enhance their mathematical knowledge by bringing digital media into their education. Because of its interactive and creative activities, it provides equal opportunities to each and every student. That means it is equally digital accessible to everyone. According to the second element, definitely, it is best way for digital communication and collaboration and use of desmos is very flexible and creative as it is a blend of paper and technology. Moreover, it provides an open platform to teachers & students to enhance their problem-based thinking, and encourage collaboration. With the help of “Desmos’s MATH curriculum and design”, it become a best facilitation tool for everyone.   

source-https://vondesmos.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/pentagon-construction-2.gif?w=358

There is no doubt that it is a time-consuming process to create good interactive resources but I use this instead of using a PowerPoint specially when teaching Live, i.e., in online classes. During covid- time, I used it for first time while teaching my cousins and the experience was awesome!! It has a lot of benefits such as: it is easy to pick, scope of improvement in every concept. Moreover, it provides more chances of interactions between students and teachers. Overall, I believe that, it is a fantastic tool to learn math’s. Now, I am looking forward to learn about more digital tools such as Flipgrid, Scribjab, and story book Canada from this class and class fellows, so that I can try new things in my classroom.

-Thank you

9 thoughts on “Major project with Ribble’s nine elements

  1. Lovepreet, thanks for sharing about ‘Desmos’, it’s a new thing for me. I want to learn and explore more about it. To be honest, I always ran away from maths and using such tools which brings interest in the maths, it really sounds good. Wishing to learn more about this tool!

  2. First of all I liked the graphic that you shared as it covers all the information about Ribble’s Nine Elements. Moreover, bringing technology in Maths is more exciting as this subject can be fun with the help of tools like DESMOS. For me Maths was always a boring subect but after knowing about Desmos, I feel that a teacher can make is more interesting and can explain the calculations by showing them graphically.

    • thank you for your comment #Amanpreet, we can make various graphics with the help of this digital tool. moreover, educators can make any boring subject interesting with the help of digital tools!!

  3. Lovepreet, this looks like a great way to address the varying learning styles of students. By adding apps or tools like this to your pedagogy you are giving extra opportunities for students to excel. What is you outline plan for your project? Maybe a sample lesson? Good luck!

    • thank you for your comment #CymoneBernauer, for my major project, i will show, how digital tools are used for math subject. basically, i want to show the comparison between digital classroom and traditional classroom system via my major project.

  4. This is an interesting app lovepreet… I have also heard about DESMOS but never used it… As I am just like Gunpressh who runs away from Maths… I have a fear of calculations… That’s why I am also searching for some civil unit conversion apps for my major project. I wonder does it involve integration/differentiation as well? Just curious coz solving them is equal to a nightmare for me.. 😀

    • thank you #Shristy, yes!! it is very interesting app, specially for doing Quadratic equation function, we can’t do integration/differentiation with this.

  5. Thanks for sharing more about the app. I am curious to see how you are structuring your project, and how you’ll tie everything together. Layering your teaching with some technology pieces can be a rich experience if done well. I look forward to seeing it all come together.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *